Ok, so I'm away, and my students have a Developing Country Website Project they are working on. So if you are one of the students, and you run into a question, you may ask it here and I'll do my best to answer it in a timely fashion.  

Why a Blog instead of just letting students email me? Well, I imagine several of you would run into similar questions. If I answer questions here from a blog that all my students can see, it might be more efficient. So if you run into a question, and your teacher does not know the answer, and classmates don't know the answer either, you should come to this blog site and scan through the questions that have been posted here. 

Maybe someone from another class has already asked your question, and I've answered them. In that case, you get the answer you're looking for right then and there. Maybe someone already posted your same question, but I haven't responded yet. Well then you at least save yourself the time of having to post the question yourself. You can check back later and hopefully I will have answered by then. Maybe you don't see your question posted by anyone else. Then you can post your question, and I will do my best to respond soon. When I do respond, you, and any other students who had the same question, can all find the answer here on the blog. 

So that's how it's supposed to work. I think the project is pretty straight forward, and I plan on adding at least one more video tutorial of how to do a few of the things I've asked of you, but incase you run into questions, please do ask them here rather than send me an email. 

I hope you're all doing well--I miss you and look forward to seeing you when I return in a few weeks. Thanks!

--Mr. Baker
Alex Muckenfuss
1/9/2014 10:49:19 pm

Mr.Baker in doing the research for the website I got a little confused about finding the GDP. In the CIA world fact book they have multiple types of GDP listed so I wasn't sure which one to do and the teachers also weren't sure which one you wanted.
Thanks, Alex

Reply
Mr. Baker
1/11/2014 12:26:14 pm

Alex--great question! I actually meant to address this specifically in the instructions, but forgot to in the midst of all I'm doing right now.

The answer is your are looking for GDP by Purchasing Power Parity--this is how much a nation's National Income (GDP) can actually buy (their buying power) vs. the other National Incomes (GDP's) of other countries out there.

I hope this helps--thanks!

Mr. Baker

Reply
Joshua Chappell
1/14/2014 12:26:30 am

Hey Mr Baker, for the rubric I noticed that I need banner images however I cannot add banner images as I did not pick such a template. However I do have the map and flag displayed throughout my website. Would you like me to keep it as is or try to get a different template? As well, everything else on my site is complete. Thank you!

Reply
Darith and Baxter
1/21/2014 12:13:01 am

Hi, Baxter and I are both looking for a person in HER country because noone is available in Somalia. We found people in her country, but all of the repayment periods are fourteen months or over. What should we do?

Reply
Mr. Baker
1/26/2014 11:29:57 pm

So sorry to Josh, Darith and Baxter for missing your questions--life got a bit for hectic for me once a very cute and active 2 year old who cannot speak or understand any English entered the picture. So these answers are most definitely out of date, and hopefully by now you have already found solutions. But I'll answer anyway...

For Josh, if the map and flag are prominently displayed, you are good.

Darith and Baxter, the closer to 12 months you can get the better, but I will understand if it ends up being more. Thanks!

Reply



Leave a Reply.